top of page

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.


          Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated is a non-profit organization whose purpose is to provide assistance and support through established programs in local communities throughout the world.

          Founded on January 13, 1913, by twenty-two collegiate women at Howard University, Osceola Macarthy Adams, Marguerite Young Alexander, Winona Cargile Alexander, Ethel Cuff Black, Bertha Pitts Campbell, Zephyr Chisom Carter, Edna Brown Coleman, Jessie McGuire Dent, Frederica Chase Dodd, Myra Davis Hemmings, Olive C. Jones, Jimmy Bugg Middleton,  Pauline Oberdorfer Minor,  Vashti Turley Murphy,  Naomi Sewell Richardson,  Mamie Reddy Rose,  Eliza Pearl Shippen, Florence Letcher Toms,  Ethel Carr Watson,  Wertie Blackwell Weaver,  Madree Penn White,  and Edith Motte Young. The Sorority is currently a sisterhood of more than 200,000 predominately Black college-educated women.

          This includes 1,000 collegiate and alumnae chapters located in the United States, Canada, England, Japan (Tokyo and Okinawa), Germany, the Virgin Islands, Bermuda, the Bahamas, and the Republic of Korea.

The major programs of the sorority are based upon the organization’s Five-Point Programmatic Thrust:

1. Economic Development

2. Educational Development

3. International Awareness and Involvement

4. Physical and Mental Health  

5. Political Awareness and Involvement 

For more information,

bottom of page